Developed by UNIMEV (the French Meeting Industry Council) and the Paris Region Tourist Board, and funded with the participation of the Paris Exhibition Committee, the Calculator Cleo has been up and running since December 2015. Its current 2.0 version has been programmed by Deloitte on Pure Platform, an IT reporting solution by UL. Universal, leverageable, upgradable and open, its methodology is based on:

• the consultation of an expert Scientific Committee made up of professionals, association representatives and public players,
• the results of socio-economic partner studies conducted with the French Ministry for the Economy, Atout France (the French Tourism Development Agency), UNIMEV, OJS (statistical agency for trade shows and fairs), France Congrès, the Paris Region Chamber of Commerce and Industry, the Paris Exhibition Committee, Viparis and OTCP (Paris Region tourism office),
• the results of Explori surveys on attendee satisfaction,
• the ADEME’s “Base Carbone” Database (the Environment and Energy Management Agency of the French Ministry for the Environment).

The Calculator Cleo is an IT platform which assesses the impacts of events and event places. Through data inputs, professionals generate estimate or actual reports compiling up to 72 strategic indicators, which can be steered and leveraged and are broken down into 3 categories:

  • meeting performance” (business, scientific and reputation developments of the managed stakeholder communities),
  • event and tourism spin-offs” (economic, labour and tax spin-offs) for destinations,
  • environmental balance” (carbon footprint, consumption, waste management and positive initiatives).

These reports can feed into the sales, marketing, institutional and CSR actions and arguments of event organisers and event venue managers.

Understanding

the marketing indicators

The human encounters created by events are of significant value. Cleo generates 15 indicators focused on proving and enhancing events’ marketing dimension, structured around the concept of “meeting performance”. Events’ publics, whether physically present or active on social networks, make up constantly managed stakeholder communities, their interactions contributing in particular to developing the business, knowledge and influence of a company or industry.

Find out more

• Business dealings between participants make events tangible tools for prospecting and sales and even, for the more international events, genuine hubs of global trade and springboards for French companies to boost their exports. Events reflect industry-specific dynamics, and can even anticipate them!

• Showcases of the state of the art and advances in an ecosystem of stakeholders, events are platforms for knowledge sharing and technology transfers. Events can offer accredited training, a selection and promotion of scientific publications and the participation of R&D bodies.

• Through the conversations they give rise to, events are vehicles for engagement and influence. The levels of reputation of a meeting (satisfaction / recommendation), of reactions on social networks (impressions / engagement rate) and of media coverage of content (number of people watching/listening) can be used to measure the scope of influence of an industry or stakeholder community through events.

Understanding

environmental challenges

As with all human action, events have an environmental footprint. This is a key challenge concerning professional responsibility, the sustainability of event business, communication to stakeholders (clients, partners, sponsors, shareholders, local and regional authorities, NGOs, etc.), compliance with current and future regulations (carbon tax / carbon market) and civil society’s acceptance of key future events.

Find out more

Committing to a sustainable development policy requires an assessment of major impact components: Cleo calculates the key indicators such as events’ carbon footprints, waste production, and water and energy consumption. This initial level of environmental expertise is a prerequisite for any evidence of long-term corporate commitment to sustainable development:

  • indicator management: Cleo assesses results over time, from one event session to another,
  • environmental initiatives: Cleo suggests the implementation and assessment of initiatives in favour of the circular economy (sorting and recycling of secondary resources), responsible catering (environmentally-responsible labels, short circuits, surplus food redistribution) and low-footprint transportation,
  • carbon neutrality: Cleo measures the level of greenhouse gas emissions to be offset,
  • labels / certification: Cleo can be used as a management tool as part of a certification approach, in particular for the ISO 20121 international standard on “sustainable management for events”.

Lastly, for companies which communicate on their CSR reports, Cloe can be leveraged to measure events’ environmental efficiency with regard to their economic, labour and tax spin-offs which benefit places & destinations.

Développé par UNIMEV (Union Française des Métiers de l’Événement) et le Comité Régional du Tourisme Paris Region et financé avec le concours du Comité des Expositions de Paris, le Calculateur Cleo est en service depuis décembre 2015. Sa version 2.0 actuelle a été programmée par Deloitte sur Pure Platform, une solution informatique de reporting proposée par UL. Universelle, capitablisable, évolutive et ouverte, sa méthodologie est fondée sur :

  • la concertation d’un Comité scientifique d’experts professionnels, associatifs et publics ;
  • les résultats des études socio-économiques partenariales menées avec le Ministère de l’Economie, Atout France, UNIMEV, OJS, France Congrès, CCI Paris IDF, Comité des Expositions de Paris, Viparis et OTCP ;
  • les résultats des études Explori sur la satisfaction des participants ;
  • la Base Carbone de l’ADEME/Ministère de l’Environnement.

Le Calculateur Cleo est une plateforme informatique évaluant les impacts des événements et territoires événementiels. Grâce au renseignement de données, les professionnels produisent des reportings estimés ou réels compilant jusqu’à 72 indicateurs stratégiques, pilotables et valorisables, répartis en 3 catégories:

• « performance de la rencontre » (développements business, scientifiques et réputationnels des communautés rassemblées) ;
• « retombées événementielles et touristiques » (économiques, sociales et fiscales) pour les territoires ;
• « bilan environnemental » (empreinte carbone, consommations, déchets et initiatives positives).

Ces rapports servent les actions et argumentaires commerciaux, marketing, institutionnels et RSE des organisateurs de manifestations et gestionnaires de lieux événementiels.

Comprendre

les indicateurs marketing

Les rencontres humaines occasionnées par les événements constituent une richesse considérable. Cleo produit 15 indicateurs dédiés à la preuve et la valorisation marketing de l’événement, rassemblés autour du concept de « performance de la rencontre ». Le public de l’événement, qu’il soit présent physiquement ou mobilisé sur les réseaux sociaux, forme une communauté animée en permanence, dont les interactions contribuent notamment au développement de l’économie, de la connaissance et de l’influence d’une entreprise ou d’une filière.

En savoir plus

• Les affaires générées entre participants font des événements des outils tangibles de prospection et de vente, voire, pour les plus internationaux, de véritables hubs de commerce mondial et de tremplins à l’export pour les entreprises françaises. Les événements reflètent les dynamiques d’un secteur, quand ils ne les prédisent pas !

• Vitrines de l’état de l’art et des progrès d’un écosystème d’acteurs, les événements sont des plateformes de partage de savoirs et de transfert technologique. Formations reconnues, sélection et mise en avant de publications scientifiques, participation d’organismes de R&D, sont autant de dispositifs que les événements peuvent proposer.

• Par les conversations qu’ils génèrent, les événements sont des vecteurs de mobilisation et de rayonnement. Les niveaux de réputation d’un rassemblement (satisfaction / recommandation), de réactions sur les réseaux sociaux (impressions / taux d’engagement) et de reprise des contenus dans les médias (lectorat / auditorat) permettent de mesurer la capacité d’influence d’une filière ou d’une communauté d’acteurs grâce aux événements.

Comprendre

les enjeux environnementaux

Comme toute action humaine, les événements ont une empreinte écologique. Il s’agit d’un enjeu majeur de responsabilité des professionnels, de durabilité de leurs activités événementielles, de communication auprès de leurs parties prenantes (clients, partenaires, sponsors, actionnaires, collectivités territoriales, ONG, etc.), de mise en conformité à la réglementation en vigueur et à venir (taxe carbone / marché carbone), et d’acceptabilité par la société civile des grands événements de demain.

En savoir plus

S’engager dans une politique de développement durable requiert l’évaluation des grandes masses d’impact : Cleo calcule ainsi les indicateurs fondamentaux que sont l’empreinte carbone, la production de déchets et les consommations d’eau et d’énergie des événements. Ce premier niveau d’expertise environnementale est un préalable à toute preuve d’engagement à long terme de son entreprise en matière de développement durable :

• pilotage d’indicateurs : Cleo évalue les résultats dans le temps, d’une session à l’autre de l’événement ;

• actions écologiques : Cleo propose la mise en place et l’évaluation d’actions en faveur de l’économie circulaire (tri et valorisation des ressources secondaires), de la responsabilité alimentaire (labels éco-responsables, circuits courts, redistribution des surplus), ou encore des transports à faible empreinte ;

• neutralité carbone : Cleo mesure le niveau des émissions de GES à compenser ;

• labellisation / certification : Cleo peut servir d’outil de pilotage dans le cadre d’une certification, notamment à la norme internationale ISO 20121 de « management responsable des activités événementielles ».

Enfin, pour les entreprises communiquant sur des reportings RSE, Cleo permet de mesurer l’efficacité environnementale d’un événement au regard de ses retombées économiques, sociales et fiscales bénéficiant aux territoires.